Monthly Archives: February 2016

An 1812 Webinar!

The War of 1812 Preserve the Pensions team are so excited to be a part of the 2016 Legacy Family Tree Webinar series! You will not want to miss this opportunity to learn about searching this “forgotten” period of U.S. history with our very own Rebecca Koford, CG.

military history, War of 1812, pension, documents, records, genealogy, history, preservation, Wisconsin

Pension file for Nathaniel Alger, resident of Stoughton, Wisconsin.

The one hour session will discuss the Pension files and how you might take advantage of the information within:

The War of 1812 records contain more than just the Name, Rank, and Serial Number (minimum information required to give in the event of capture) of the veteran. This webinar will focus on the various documents that might be found in the Pension records of The War of 1812 veterans, how they might be used to overcome brick walls in genealogical research, and about the Preserve the Pensions project (www.preservethepensions.org).

Registration for this webinar is free through the Legacy Family Tree Webinars website. We hope you are able to take advantage of this excellent learning opportunity.

What you need to know:

Wednesday, March 2, 2016

  • 2:00pm Eastern
  • 1:00pm Central
  • 12:00pm Mountain
  • 11:00am Pacific
  • 7:00pm GMT

Register here today!

 

 

Thank you, Rootstech!

Want to guess how much we raised in donations from Rootstech attendees?

Go ahead.

Guess.

Rootstech

Rootstech

Before we tell you, we have to say thank you. The contributions we have received so far in 2016 have been remarkable, and February could not have started in a better way. To everyone who attended Rootstech and donated to this effort, our sincere thanks and gratitude.

And now?

The numbers.

The total donation was $5222.80. Our goal for the event was $5000.00. Why? Because the Federation of Genealogical Societies committed to match $5000.00 if we could get it! And we did!

With that match, the total becomesĀ $10,445.60.

We’re not done.

Ancestry.com matches dollar for dollar… which means our grand total for Rootstech was $20,891.20!!

The best part is, we’re not even half way through the month yet – which means February 2016 could be HUGE! But we need your help; can you make a donation today? Can you help us achieve this monumental goal?

 

 

January’s Results

We’re looking forward to an incredibly successful 2016 for the War of 1812 Preserve the Pensions fundraising campaign, and we wanted to share with you where those donations are coming from!

We have two maps to share with you – the first represents those states from which we received individual contributions. The second will show states from which we received donations through a society program or match campaign.

 

donate, donation, state, individual, genealogy, history, war of 1812, family history, preservation, NARA, military history, fundraising,

Individual donations represented by state, January 2016.

 

 

society, genealogy society, donations, crowd sourcing, War of 1812, preservation, military history, NARA,

States from which society donations were made, January 2016.

 

Don’t see your state represented? Don’t wait – set up your automatic monthly donation today, and help us digitally preserve the War of 1812 pension files forever – and make them freely available to all! Can we obtain a donation from every state in the Union by year’s end? We would love to see a rainbow of color across the nation!